in

How to recall email Or undue an email you didn’t mean to send (Gmail and Outlook)

Oops, you’ve just sent off an angry email to your boss from your Gmail account. Should you start looking for a new job? Not if you’ve do this steps!

How many times have you hit “send” on a professional email only to immediately realize you’ve misspelled the recipient’s name? Or after sending an email you instantly regretted? Maybe you billed the wrong client, or forgot to attach a file before pressing “Send.” Or maybe you sent your boss a message you intended to send your best friend, detailing the nastier symptoms of your hangover…!!!

While these examples certainly can be embarrassing, other mistakes can get you into legal trouble. There are no second chances in life, but there may be in the email. [ recall email ]
Before we start let me answer the billion-dollar question, Is it possible to recall an email after it has been read by the recipient?
The answer may be no in most scenarios.
So, to the best of my knowledge, there is no email service provider who has implemented the recall after read feature. it is possible to recall an email after it has been read by the recipient when it’s possible to recall an unread message as in Outlook.
But, Is there any advantage of recalling after the recipient reading the message? The answer may be no in most scenarios.
But If it’s in their inbox you have no ability or permission to access and delete/recall. Even before they’ve read it. so let’s look how to do that on all famous email clients.

1. Here is how to Unsend Gmail 

Oops, you’ve just sent off an angry email to your boss from your Gmail account. Should you start looking for a new job? Not if you’ve enabled Gmail’s Undo Send feature.

Are you using it? You really should be. it’s super easy!

With just a little tweak of the Gmail settings, no one need know about these embarrassing mistakes. Because that’s right, you can actually take an email back. Sort of.

The feature rolled out to the general public in 2015, and allows people with a Gmail account to set a window of time during which the sender can quickly retract a decision to fire off any particularly ill-conceived company-wide emails.

Thankfully, turning the feature on is incredibly simple

  1. Log into your Gmail account,
    Click on the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner of the screen and select Settings.
  2. scroll down to the checkbox labeled “Enable Undo Send” and select it. You can then choose a “send cancellation period” of the aforementioned 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.
  3. Lastly, scroll down and click “save changes.”
    Don’t forget this part.

undu-sent-gmail

To test the feature, click the Compose button at the upper left corner of your Gmail account page.

Compose a message and then click the Send button.

At the top of the screen, you’ll see a message that says: “Your message has been sent. Undo. View Message.”

To prevent the message from being sent, click the Undo link.  You will have about 30 seconds to retract the email with the ‘Undo’ link at the top.
undo-sent-mail-in-gmail

Gmail stops the message from going out and displays it in case you wish to make any changes and then resend it. If not, you can simply close the message, and it’s relegated to your Drafts folder where you can keep it or delete it.

Do note, when you enable the ‘undo send’ feature, the time taken for the email to be delivered will also be delayed by the amount of buffer time you choose.

With Undo Send enabled, you sleep better at night knowing your email has a fail-safe — even if the rest of the world is a terrible mess. This feature is a handy way to ensure that the wrong email doesn’t get sent to the wrong person.

Also Read: Think Your Personal Details are Safe Online? Think Again! Here is everything you need to know about Internet safety

2. Here is how you can recall email In outlook

To recall or replace a message, follow these steps:

  1. Locate the Sent Items folder.
  2. Open the message that you want to recall or replace.
  3. Click Actions on the ribbon or menu, and then click Recall This Message.
  4. Enable the Delete unread copies of this message option to recall the message. Or, enable the Delete unread copies and replace with a new message to replace the message with a new one.
  5. To receive a notification about the success of the recall or replacement, enable the Tell me if recall succeeds or fails for each recipient option.
  6. Click OK. If you chose the replace option, type your new message and send it.

recall-email-in-outlook

Watch this video on ‘Recalling an email in Outlook‘ for quick understanding

We have done with most popular 2 email clients but that not all, You need to do it also on a dive that you are carrying in your pocket! That’s right your mobile…
let’s check how we can do it on the Gmail app on your phone that we all are familiar.

3. Here is how you can recall email In Gmail App on your Mobile

Actually, Undo Send isn’t available in the Gmail app. Instead, you can get a confirmation alert before sending messages. Yes, it is better than nothing…

Update: Gmail for Android finally gets undo send email feature

Google finally rolled out the feature for Android users using Gmail app on mobile phones. The feature is available on Gmail app version 8.7 and further versions of the app.

The feature is similar to the Delete for Everyone feature in WhatsApp. It basically allows you to recall a sent email within 30 seconds if you have sent it in hurry and there’s some error that needs to be fixed. Note you get maximum 30 seconds to recall your email after that it is not possible to undo your sent emails.

Read also: Whatsapp trick to read messages without letting the sender know

According to an Android Police report, the timing of the new undo is up in the air. However, testing has found that only versions 8.7 and forward have the feature. Even so, the feature does not show up for a few minutes at times on some versions, finally appearing only when the app is force killed or swiped out of memory.

You have to first turn on Undo send from the Gmail settings to retract the sent email. To do so, go to Gmail and click on Settings. In the “Undo Send” section, check the box next to “Enable Undo Send.” In the “Send cancellation period” section, set the amount of time you want to decide if you want to unsend an email. The cancellation time periods are 5 secs, 10 secs, 20 secs and 30 secs. Once you have selected the time period, click on save changes at the bottom to save your changes.

If you don’t find the option you can use old  ‘confirmation alert before sending messages’  option.
Here is how to do that

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app.
  2. In the top left, tap Menu.
  3. Scroll to the bottom, then tap Settings General settings.
  4. Check “Confirm before sending.”

That’s it, From now whenever you press that sent button you need to Confirm before sending. Sure it is an additional step but can save you from an embarrassing moment.
Hopefully, at some point in the near future, Google will see to it to add the Undo Send feature in the Gmail Android app.

That’s it your message is recalled before anyone reads it.
And Don’t forget to share your experience in the comment section 😉

This post was created with our nice and easy submission form. Create your post!

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply

Loading…

benefits of milk

A glass of cow milk can do wonders!